Formatting CF card to be used in DCS520

Discuss older Nikon-based Kodak digital SLRs, including DCS 100, DCS 200, NC2000, DCS 400/600/700-series, etc. Ask questions, post general comments, anecdotes, reviews and user tips.
Post Reply
nausee
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:44 am
antispam: No

Formatting CF card to be used in DCS520

Post by nausee » Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:24 am

I am having problem using Compact Flash card with adaptor on my DCS520.

I have a 1Gb SanDisk Extreme III CF card which is formatted in XP, and I have been using it with my D1x without problem. It read/write fine on DCS520. But after using it on DCS520, no files were shown in windows explorer. Luckily I can retrieve all photos using some file recovery program.

So I have done an experiment.
1. Formatting a 32Mb CF card on DCS520, all file can be shown/read in windows explorer, however
2. Formatting the same 32Mb CF on XP, took some pictures with it on DCS520, then no files can be shown in windows explorer.

I wonder whether some special parameter are required (beside it being FAT) to format a CF card to be used on DCS520. Or would it be caused by a faulty CF to PCMCIA adaptor? Thanks.

Frank.

nikonnl
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 2:51 pm
antispam: No
Location: South-Holland
Contact:

Re: Formatting CF card to be used in DCS520

Post by nikonnl » Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:20 pm

Hi Frank,
I don't think there is a problem with the adapter. I would never format a card, used in a DCS camera, in a PC running under Windows XP (and higher). I think it is a FAT-problem. I would also advise you to open the cards/files in an older Nikon View (e.g. 6) software (not in explorer). I have/had no problems in opening DCS410/420 images. Format the cards in the camera.
Maybe this is of any help.
Regards,
Nico
D1/D1X/D1H/D2H/D2X etc.

Stan Disbrow
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Re: Formatting CF card to be used in DCS520

Post by Stan Disbrow » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:01 pm

Hi,

Sounds like the old FAT-12 vs FAT-16 issue to me. Winders defaults to FAT-16...

Stan
Amateur Photographer
Professional Electronics Development Engineer

Post Reply