DCS 420: Strange CF card issue

Discuss older Nikon-based Kodak digital SLRs, including DCS 100, DCS 200, NC2000, DCS 400/600/700-series, etc. Ask questions, post general comments, anecdotes, reviews and user tips.
Post Reply
Webmaster
Site Admin
Posts: 1005
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:12 pm
antispam: No
Location: Norway
Contact:

DCS 420: Strange CF card issue

Post by Webmaster » Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:21 am

Cheap old 'Twinmos' 128 MB CF-card formatted as FAT (i.e. NOT FAT32) under Windows XP, Canon PCMCIA adapter:

My DCS 420 will correctly report xx number of images left, and count down as I press the shutter button. Everything seems to work, but no files are recorded. To make sure it wasn't a camera issue, I tried my 40 MB PCMCIA card. No problems there. Also, the same combination (card/adapter) does work with my Fujix DS-565 (Nikon E3S).

Anyone else experienced such problems?

Jarle

Brian Sweeney
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 1:30 pm

Post by Brian Sweeney » Sat Jun 04, 2005 12:44 pm

Made me Look! I used the Simpletech 256MB CF to store some images and retrieve them with the SCSI Twain drivers. The DCS420c successfully did a write then read/erase cycle with the TWAIN driver.

I am running frimware 051998. Under the older firmware, "011997"(? something ending in a 7), I had similar problems with the Simpletech card that NOW works. The card Formatted with the camera, showed the number remaining, took a picture, then gave an "E2" error indicating the disk was not ready. This error is not gone with the latest firmware, available from Kodak.

Jarle, do you have the SCSI set up? I am using Adaptec 2940 cards winder WIN95b.

Webmaster
Site Admin
Posts: 1005
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:12 pm
antispam: No
Location: Norway
Contact:

SCSI

Post by Webmaster » Sat Jun 04, 2005 1:11 pm

Brian Sweeney wrote:Jarle, do you have the SCSI set up? I am using Adaptec 2940 cards winder WIN95b.
Hi Brian,

I don't have SCSI set up on any of my current PC's. I did hope to avoid it, but I guess I'll have to set up an old Win 95 (or 98?) PC to properly work (i.e. play) with these old things..

Thanks,
Jarle

kelbley
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 3:37 am
Location: USA

Post by kelbley » Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:05 am

:D
About 4 years ago, I used a Microtek SCSI to 1394 converter.
It seemed to work fine with the Kodak DCS 420 and the RFS 3570 scanner on my Mac....

I'd guess that something like this would still work today...
(easier and maybe cheaper than messing with a scsi card..)

-Jay


:roll:
__________
Jay Kelbley
__________

Post Reply